top of page

Needlefelting... a quick tutorial!

As usual, browsing Pinterest, I saw some cute little felted hearts and I thought they would look brilliantly in my Christmas tree this year! So I did some research and found they were pretty easy to make! Yay! I LOVE EASY!

But I needed the materials for felting. Again another google search brought me to a felt shop online here in the Netherlands: MeerVilt! They have absolutely everything for felting and they do workshops as well.

Normally I just buy whatever I think I need. I did that with my soapmaking adventure. Well adventure, we never took off so to speak. Because it's all still there waiting for me to make soap! I will make soap... one day...

So to be sensible (yes I can be that!) I bought a starterpack. With needles, a foamboard and wool.

1.jpg

It arrived really quickly and I got started straight away:

2.jpg

I had some Drops Eskimo in my enormous stash:

3.jpg

This is what I use:

5.jpg

Drops Eskimo

Felting needle

a comb

The needle is not your average needle, it's triangular and has little grooves in it.

And you need foam boards.

The big one I got in my starters pack. It's nice and thick. You can have it on your lap on the sofa and you won't prick yourself!

7.jpg

The small one is packaging material, I got in a box. It's a nice size to put in hats or take with you. It's not thick so you have to be careful not to prick yourself or to prick through it and hit the tabletop. Your needle will break!

I love to decorate cakes, I have loads of cutters for flowers and other things.

9.jpg

Some Christmas decorations I made:

10.jpg

So let's get started

You have to comb your Eskimo yarn to get to the fluffy stuff!

13.jpg
14.jpg

Once you have enough fluffy stuff, you can start felting. Btw I needed a bit of black for felting and I didn't have Eskimo in black. I used Drops Nepal in black and used the comb to get it fluffy. It took a bit longer than the Eskimo, but I just needed a bit.

Position your shape on the foamboard

15.jpg

Fill the shape with fibres

16.jpg

And start poking it with your needle!

17.jpg

Until it's flat(tish)

18.jpg

This is what it looks like without shape

19.jpg

It's stuck now to your board, but don't worry! Just peel it off carefully.

20.jpg

And turn it around and stuff it upside down in your shape and start poking it again with your needle

22.jpg

Oh oh... poked it a bit too hard :(

23.jpg

Once the other side is flat as well, remove the shape and start poking the sides. Make sure to poke evenly.

24.jpg

And voila! Your heart is finished!

25.jpg

Needle felting on Crochet:

Put your foamboard in your hat:

26.jpg

Place shape on hat

27.jpg

Fill it with fibres and start poking it

28.jpg

Once it's flat, remove the shape and poke the edges

29.jpg

Voila again!

30.jpg

So this is how I needle felt!

Easy peasy!

xoxoxo

Search By Tags
Er zijn nog geen tags.
Archive
bottom of page